1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Top 10 New Rap Albums February 2013


February is for roses. But don't forget the music to soundtrack your lovey-dovey moments. There's plenty of sweet tunes to pick from this month. Here's a rundown of February's best new hip-hop albums.

10. Trinity - '20 In'

DJ Jab (Joseph Abajian) launched Fat Beats on July 14, 1994 as a vinyl-only retail store in Manhattan. Now he's taken on a new role as a producer, teaming up with Sadat X and AG to form Trinity. Jab served as one of the producers on 20 In, which features guest vocals from Everlast, Roxanne Shante, Ill Bill, Grand Puba, Immortal Technique, Slug and more.
Release Date: February 26, 2013

9. Kutt Calhoun - 'Black Gold'

Black Gold is the fourth studio album from Tech N9ne associate Kutt Calhoun. He keeps the guest list within the Strange Music family, with appearances coming from Tech Nina, Brotha Lynch Hung, Krizz Kaliko, and more.
Release Date: February 26, 2013

8. Edo G - 'Intelligence and Ignorance'

Edo G started his career as a voice of the ghetto. His first album was dubbed Life of a Kid in the Ghetto for a reason. Now, years into his career, the Roxbury native is still kicking knowledge. Intelligence and Ignorance takes a dual-tone approach, massaging out two extremes with some fun detours in between. Produced primarily by Micro-phono, Intelligence and Ignorance includes highlights "Can't Wait" and "Easy."
Release Date: February 5, 2013

7. Vast Aire - 'Best of the Best Vol 1'

Vast Aire has been on the fringes of underground rap since the early 00s. You probably remember him from his Cannibal Ox days and made a mental note to explore his solo stuff at some point. Now is that point. Start with Best of the Best Vol. 1, a solid compendium of Vast Aire's career highlights. It features Del the Funky Homosapien, Sadat X, French Montana, N.O.R.E., Jadakiss, and more.
Release Date: January 22, 2013

6. Alexander Spit - 'A Breathtaking Trip To That Otherside'

Alexander Spit welcomes you to his world. Hop on for a ride with the LA by-way-of San Francisco rapper/producer and what awaits is a dark, drowsy reality. On board for the trip: Action Bronson, E-40, the Alchemist, BAGO, Mr. MFN eXquire, and more.
Release Date: January 29, 2013

5. Notes to Self - 'Target Market'

Canadian hip-hop crew Notes to Self has been gathering momentum with a steady stream of songs and videos since 2011. The group's Decon debut, Target Market, features Fashawn, Lee Gaul, Evidence, Arowbe, and Beatface.
Release Date: February 26, 2013

4. Inspectah Deck / 7L & Esoteric - 'Czarface'

Czarface is comprised of a duo and a Wu-Tang clansman—7L & Esoteric and Inspectah Deck. "Czarface is a vigilante, anti-hero character who serves as the face of the project, and his focus is on annihilating the media darlings that the mainstream caters to," explains Esoteric. "We are CZARFACE because they know our faces and they know us for being dope rhyme suppliers, like Tony Montana we are known for our balls and our word; lyrically we will conquer the world and everything in it," boasts Deck. Their debut features Ghostface, Action Bronson, Mr. MFN eXquire, Roc Marciano, Vinnie Paz, and Cappadonna.
Release Date: February 19, 2013

3. Oh No - 'Disrupted Ads'

Oh No dropped five projects last year. He just might top that tally this year, starting with his latest collection of unused instrumentals. Joining the SoCal producer on Disrupted Ads are Rapsody, Psalm One, Blu, MED, Georgia Anne Muldrow, and more.
Release Date: January 12, 2013

2. Joe Budden - 'No Love Lost'

No Love Lost is the final piece in Budden's four-album series, which started with 2008's Halfway House. Budden has described No Love Lost as a portrait of his current outlook on life. "The title just symbolizes being in a real state of happiness," he says. "I don't have any malice toward anyone, no grudges, just being in a real pain-free type of state." Lil Wayne, French Montana, and Tank, Lloyd Banks all contribute to No Love Lost.
Release Date: February 5, 2013

1. Ill Bill - 'The Grimy Awards'

Ill Bill - Grimy Awards
© Uncle Howie/Fat Beats
The Grimy Awards returns Ill Bill returns to his cultural/political/esoteric/futuristic Tom yum steez. And the Brooklyn native assembled a mouth-watering lineup of producers for this one: Ayatollah, DJ Premier, Pete Rock, El-P, Large Professor, DJ Muggs, Moss, Psycho Les, and more.
Release Date: February 26, 2013
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Rap / Hip-Hop
  4. Release Dates
  5. Top 10 New Rap Albums February 2013

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.